Foodspotting · Netherlands · Rotterdam

Takumi Dusseldorf brings their best ramen to Rotterdam

When Takumi, the famous ramen restaurant from Dusseldorf, announced that they are bringen the authentic Sapporo Ramen to the West-Kruiskade in Rotterdam, everyone was excited. Do you remember the times that you went to Dusseldorf just to eat at Takumi or at Naniwa? I had only been to Naniwa, but I heard great things about Takumi. I live near the West-Kruiskade and lately I have been witnessing the renovation of the restaurant. When I heard they had their grand opening at the 10th of February I knew I had to go there!

    

After they opened their doors it was clear how popular and busy it was. There were long queues all the time outside, during lunchtime and dinnertime, because you cannot book a table in advance. Only when you are in a company of six or more. Strategically my friend and I decided on a time that would not be so busy and we guessed right and got seated immediately!

The restaurant has a beautiful authentic interior and you can choose to sit at a table or at a bar. We first chose something to drink. They have well-known Japanese drinks like Calpis, ramune, sake and Japanese green tea. Too bad they only had the normal Calpis and not with other flavors. I really liked that, but Japanese green tea sounded good too.

Time for ramen

To order a main course we had to mark our choice on an order form. You could choose between different Sapporo ramen and curry rice where you can add extra toppings. They also had different side dishes, like edamame, takoyaki and gyoza; and also (matcha!) desserts!

Because we wanted to leave room for dessert, my friend and I decided to only have ramen at my first visit. Our choice fell for the buta-tama tonkotsu ramen with pork and a soft-boiled egg. Buta-tama means pork omelet and tonkotsu means pork bone broth. When our dish arrived, the waitress recommended us to break the egg yolk and mix it with the broth. It was simply delicious! The ramen was soft and had a good bite. And mixing the egg yolk with the broth made it creamy without being fatty. After finishing the ramen we were really stuffed! So we waited a little bit to order dessert.

Meanwhile I have visited Takumi several times already. They also have monthly specials, like this Pork Rib Ramen with saffron on top of it.

Everything matcha

As dessert they had a matcha plate, a matcha toast and different ice cream dishes.

I really love the matcha plate which had matcha ice cream, dorayaki, pocky sticks, red beans and mochi! They even sprinkled matcha powder on top of it! I really love good matcha, so I was really happy to have tasted this diverse and filling dish!

Rotterdam is getting more and more different kinds of restaurants. Takumi is one of the few ramen restaurants which have opened their doors here and to me they are a keeper. As they are located at the West-Kruiskade, they are easily to find from the Central Station. Keep in mind that you cannot reserve a spot in advance and might have to wait before you can taste one of their delicious dishes. I can’t wait to visit is again! I am already thinking what I should take next time.

Address

Takumi Düsseldorf Netherlands
West-Kruiskade 9b
3014 AJ Rotterdam
The Netherlands
https://www.facebook.com/TakumiDusseldorfNetherlans/

Opening hours
Monday: 11:30 – 22:00
Tuesday: 11:30 – 22:00
Wednesday: 11:30 – 22:00
Thursday: 11:30 – 22:00
Friday: 11:30 – 22:30
Saturday: 11:30 – 22:30
Sunday: 12:00 – 21:30

This post was originally posted on The SmartPage.

Leave a Reply

